sábado, 7 de setembro de 2013

After working all week long
I'll enjoy my Saturday
I've done my schedule for tonight
And I know where I should begin

Carlos Guinle, a maecenas from XX century died prematurely in 50's. In 1961, Philips, under direction of Aloysio de Oliveira, released a record in memory of the five years of his death. 
With some exclusive recordings of Sylvia Telles, Dorival Caymmi and even socialite Tereza Souza Campos, this album contains the beautiful music that Carlinhos Guinle has composed.


01 - Não Tem Solução w/ Tereza Souza Campos
02 - Choro w/ Tamba Trio
03 - Valerá a Pena? w/ Jacques Klein
04 - Sábado em Copcabana w/ Sylvia Telles
05 - Nesta Rua tão Deserta w/ Dorival Caymmi and Hugo Lima
06 - Sambão w/ Tamba Trio
07 - Tão Só w/ Tereza Souza Campos
08 - Nesta Rua tão Deserta w/ Jacques Klein
09 - Você Não sabe Amar w/ Sylvia Telles
10 - Berceuse w/ Luli Oswald

Philips P 632.116 L. High Fidelity

domingo, 1 de setembro de 2013

Inezita Barroso - Vamos Falar de Brasil Novamente (1966)

What a beautiful photo for a beautiful album. Inezita Barroso is among the best female singers that Brazil ever produced. With a carreer that spans more 60 years and still in activity, with a sunday-morning show on television, Inezita has recorded many good albums, most of them for Discos Copacabana.
Always worshiped by the intelligentsia, but, at the same time, near to the general public, she was the first to disclose what we call "folk music", including that ones produced in the hinterland corners of the country, by the "caipiras", until modinhas from XIX Century and songs whose lyrics was composed by poets like Mário de Andrade. 
"Vamos Falar de Brasil Novamente", a species of continuation of her acclaimed 1958 album "Vamos Falar de Brasil", with orchestrations made by maestro Guerra Peixe and accompaniment of Caçulinha's Regional.

Let's hear about Brazil?


01 - Cais do Porto
02 - Palavra de Peão
03 - Festa de Ogum
04 - Burro Chucro
05 - Nação Nagô
06 - Serenata
07 - Soca Pilão
08 - Maracatu Elegante
09 - Oração de Guerreiro
10 - Piaba
11 - Peixinho no Mar
12 - Dança Negra

Copacabana CLP 11.475. High Fidelity.

sexta-feira, 30 de agosto de 2013

A Voz de Leny Eversong [1956]

I don’t know whether or not it was deliberate, but this album strongly suggests the ones that Peruvian Yma Sumac was recording for Capitol Records. Of course, this fact have no importance at all. What matters is that this LP is a good album with characteristic 50’s echoes and orchestrations (made by Guerra Peixe and Lindolpho Gaya).
Here is Leny Eversong’s first album.

01 – Lamento Tupi
02 – El Cumbanchero / Tierra Va Tembla
03 – Na Baixa do Sapateiro
04 – Mãe de Ouro
05 – Jezebel
06 – Otinderê
07 – Brasil / Canta Brasil / Aquarela do Brasil

Copacabana CLP 3013.

domingo, 25 de agosto de 2013

Luiz Arruda Paes - Brasil Dia e Noite Vol.2 [1966]

For our first post, a LP record by Luiz Arruda Paes and his orchestra for Odeon. It's "Brasil Dia e Noite - Vol. 2", which title makes reference to the first "Brasil Dia e Noite", released in 1957 and a smash hit in Brazil.

For this record, Luiz Arruda Paes conducts a series of melodies that were in parade back in '66 such Chico Buarque's "A Banda", "Sonho de um Carnaval" and "Olê Olá". Meanwhile, Luiz also delivers renditions of traditional brazilian music as 'Marina", "Ai que Saudades da Amélia" and "No Rancho Fundo". A surprising good recording of brega hit "O Trovador" closes this record, which is presented in a trully stereophonic transcription.


01 - A Banda
02 - Vem Chegando a Madrugada
03 - Samba de Orfeu
04 - Sonho de Um Carnaval
05 - Marina
06 - Olê Olá
07 - Upa Neguinho
08 - Tristeza
09 - Manhã de Carnaval
10 - Ai que Saudades da Amélia
11 - No Rancho Fundo
12 - O Trovador

Odeon MOFB 3480, Stereophonic.